Ghost has a number of different user roles for your team:

User Roles

Contributors
This is the base user level in Ghost. Contributors can create and edit their own draft posts, but they are unable to edit drafts of others or publish posts. Contributors are untrusted users with the most basic access to your publication.

Authors
Authors are the 2nd user level in Ghost. Authors can write, edit  and publish their own posts. Authors are trusted users. If you don't trust users to be allowed to publish their own posts, they should be set as Contributors.

Editors
Editors are the 3rd user level in Ghost. Editors can do everything that an Author can do, but they can also edit and publish the posts of others - as well as their own. Editors can also invite new Contributors+Authors to the site.

Administrators
The top user level in Ghost is Administrator. Again, administrators can do everything that Authors and Editors can do, but they can also edit all site settings and data, not just content. Additionally, administrators have full access to invite, manage or remove any other user of the site.

The Owner
There is only ever one owner of a Ghost site. The owner is a special user which has all the same permissions as an Administrator, but with two exceptions: The Owner can never be deleted. And in some circumstances the owner will have access to additional special settings if applicable. For example: billing details, if using Ghost(Pro).

It's a good idea to ask all of your users to fill out their user profiles, including bio and social links. These will populate rich structured data for posts and generally create more opportunities for themes to fully populate their design.

User Role Capabilities

Capability Administrator Editor Author Contributor Non-Auth
Overall User Interface
view ‘Settings’ in admin menu X X      
view ‘Your Profile’ in user menu X X X  X  
edit ‘Your Profile’ in user menu X X X  X  
Settings
view general blog settings X        
edit general blog settings X        
view users settings X X      
Users
invite users X A*      
revoke invites to users X A*      
view other users X A*      
edit other users X A*      
delete other users X A*      
browse X X X    
add admin X        
add editor X        
add author X X      
add contributor X X      
Roles Users
assign X X (role = author)       
view X X X   X
browse X X X   X
Tags
edit tags X X      
add tags X X X    
delete tags X X      
Content List
browse all posts X X      
browse own posts X X    
Posts
create new posts X X X  X  
publish posts X X X    
edit own posts X X X    
edit other’s posts X X      
delete own posts X X X    
delete other’s posts X X      
Slugs
generate X X X    
Database
import content X        
export content X        
delete all content X        
browse X        
add X        
delete X        
Mail
Send X        
Send test mail X        
Notifications
X – Yes
A* – Authors only

Owner Special Rules

  • There can only ever be one owner
  • Owners cannot be deleted or have their role downgraded
  • Owners have a single additional capability, to transfer their ownership to another user. If this is done, the owner becomes an administrator.

How to add a user

To add a user to your publication, go to the “Team” settings in Ghost admin and click the “Invite People” button. Type in the email address of your team member, select a user role and click “Send.”

To cancel an invitation, click the “revoke” link next to the user under the invited user list in the “Team” settings of Ghost admin.

How to delete a user

To delete a user, click on the gear icon from the user’s profile in the “Team” settings of Ghost Admin and select “Delete User.”

Deleting a user is irreversible will delete all data (including post content) associated with the user.

Transfer Ownership

To transfer ownership of a publication, log into the site as the existing owner and go to the “Team” settings. Click on the user from the team list to be made the new owner. From the user profile, click the gear icon in the top right corner and select, “Make owner.” The exiting owner user will be downgraded to the administrator role.

Only an administrator can be made a publication owner.